The new Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot, a community-based pathway to Canadian Permanent Residence began accepting applications in November 2019 in 3 communities, including Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Thunder Bay, Ontario, and Alton/Rhineland, Manitoba. Thunder Bay will begin to accept applications from candidates starting on January 2, 2020. Brandon, Manitoba has also introduced its community requirements. Once the Pilot is in full effect, there will be a total of 11 communities throughout Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia which are eligible to recruit foreign workers.


All eligible applicants must have an “eligible” job offer from an “approved” employer and must meet IRCC and specific community eligibility criteria. The minimum IRCC requirements are Canadian High School (or foreign equivalent); 1 year work experience (experience requirement waived for those who have graduated from a publicly funded post-secondary institution in the recommending community; meet the minimum language requirement based on the occupation NOC classification; intent to live in the community; and required settlement funds.


If you are interested in finding employment in one of these communities and would like information on the process, please complete our free online assessment at and upload or email your resume/cv, education documents, trade certificates or other certification results, language test scores, and any other information you feel may be relevant.