Eligible Travelers From 13 More Countries Now Qualify For Visa-Free Travel to Canada

Visa Free Travel for Canada: On June 6, 2023, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) announced the addition of 13 countries to the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. Travelers from these countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a visa when traveling to Canada by air. Effective today, eligible travelers from these countries can benefit from the program:

Eligible Countries – Visa-Free Travel

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • Kitts and Nevis
  • Lucia
  • Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Introducing visa-free air travel will make it faster, easier, and more affordable for thousands of travelers to visit Canada for up to six months for either business or leisure increase travel, increasing tourism and economic benefits. It will also help grow Canada’s economy by facilitating more travel, tourism and international business, and by strengthening Canada’s relationships with these countries while keeping Canadians safe.

This decision will also divert thousands of applications from Canada’s visa caseload, allowing us to process visa applications more efficiently, which will benefit all visa applicants.

Individuals who already have a valid visa can continue to use it to travel to Canada. Those who are not eligible for an eTA, or who are traveling to Canada by means other than air (for example, by car, bus, train and boat—including by cruise ship), will still need a visitor visa. Travelers can visit Canada.ca/eTA to find out whether they’re eligible for an eTA and how to apply for one.

How to Get Canada Travel Visa Free

To visit Canada for tourism or short-term stays, most foreign nationals need to obtain a Temporary Resident Visa (TRV), also known as a visitor visa. The application process for a visitor visa involves submitting necessary documents, such as a valid passport, proof of funds to cover expenses during the stay, and a letter of invitation if applicable. However, certain travelers from visa-exempt countries may not need a visitor visa to enter Canada. Instead, they can obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) online, which is electronically linked to their passport and allows them to travel to Canada visa-free for short visits (usually up to six months).

It is essential to consult the official website of Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) or a reputable immigration law firm for up-to-date and accurate information on the visa application process and requirements. As immigration policies can change over time, it is crucial to stay informed about the latest updates to ensure a smooth and successful visa application process for traveling to Canada.

This alert is for informational purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact us via email at info@poonahimmigrationlaw.com for further information.